- Anyone 21 years of age or older can play any of the Mississippi Lottery games.
- Mississippi Lottery rules allow retailers to accept cash, credit cards or debit cards. However, the method of payment is up to the individual retailer.
Winning tickets less than $600 may be redeemed at Lottery retailers throughout the state. During normal business hours, each retailer is required to immediately validate (through the MLC Lottery Terminal) and pay prizes under $600 for any winning ticket from all lottery games the retailer is authorized by MLC to sell. Retailers are encouraged to pay in cash, but they may pay mid-tier prizes ($20.01 - $599.99) with a business check or money order, if this is disclosed in advance of validation to the holder of the winning ticket. Retailers are prohibited from charging claimants for any method of prize payment, including money orders.
For high-tier Prizes ($600 or more), retailers shall provide the ticket holder with a MLC Winner Claim Form and, when requested, assist them in completing the form or direct the ticket holder to the MLC Headquarters.
- Mississippi Lottery tickets will be available at retailers, including convenience stores, grocery stores and other venues.
- Applicable state and federal taxes are withheld from prizes from individual winning tickets of $600 or more. Taxes on individual prizes less than $600 are the sole responsibility of the person redeeming the ticket.
- For 10 years, lottery proceed collections up to $80 million will go toward infrastructure needs around the state. After that 10-year period, lottery proceed collections up to $80 million will go into the State’s General Fund.
Any net proceeds over $80 million annually will be sent to the Education Enhancement Fund in perpetuity, which helps fund the Early Childhood Learning Collaborative and Classroom Supply Fund.
- The deadline for claiming a prize is 90 days from the day the game ends for scratch-off tickets, and 180 days from the date of the drawing for multi-state draw games.
- No, only at approved lottery locations throughout the state. Click here for approved lottery retailers.
- In accordance with the Alyce G. Clarke Mississippi Lottery Law, the Mississippi Lottery will not disclose the identity of the person holding a winning lottery ticket without that person's written permission.
- Retailers earn 6 percent for all lottery ticket sales.
Yes! You can now call 601-487-1396 to check winning numbers after the drawings occur.